How to Unblock Someone in Fortnite

boy wearing headset playing computer game

Things can change quickly in Fortnite. You might make friends with someone, only to figure out that you’d rather not play with them.

Once they’re blocked, it can feel like they are gone forever. In some cases, though, you might want that friend back.

In order to undo a block, you’re going to have to learn a little more about how your Friends’ List works.

Basics of Block and Unblocking

If you’ve played Fortnite, there’s a good chance that you have probably blocked someone. You might have gotten sick of their actions while in a Battle Royale or you might have gotten yelled at them when you were on their team, but you decided enough is enough. 

Fortnite actually has a pretty robust blocking system, which will remove that player’s ability to ever contact you again – at least, from that account. 

Fortnite is actually very forgiving when it comes to unblocking, though. You don’t have to take any special steps to bring a player back into your life.

What you will have to do, though, is gain access to the menu that allows you to see who is blocked.

Starting in the Lobby

Blocking and unblocking people on Fortnite is essentially a function of the Friends’ List, so you’re going to have to start there if you want to unblock anyone. As such, you’ll have to log into your Fortnite account and go to the game lobby in order to complete this.

No, this isn’t something you can do from the Epic site or from your phone – you’ll actually have to log into the game in order to make the change.

Friends List

Once you make it to the lobby, you’ll move over to your Friends’ List. From here, you’ll want to access your settings – it’s the option in the top right corner of your Friends’ List, which most people never actually use.

Click here to move on.

You’ll see a number of different settings here, but the one you want won’t actually unblock anyone. Instead, it’s just going to show you who you already have blocked – a feature that won’t usually be active for the average player.

Most people have ‘Hide Blocked Players‘ enabled, so you’ll want to go to that option and make sure it is disabled.

Once you’ve accomplished that, you can actually see who you have blocked. From there, the rest of the process is actually pretty easy.

Unblocking

Now that you have enabled the option to see blocked players, you will have a new tab at the bottom of your Friends’ List. This tab, helpfully titled Blocked Players, will allow you to look at everyone who you have blocked in the game.

You’ll need to click over to this tab for the next step.

Once you have clicked over to the Blocked Players tab, you can look at each individual player that you have blocked. If you want to remove someone from the block list, just right-click on their name and you’ll be given the option to unblock them again.

Once you’re done, you can either leave the block list open or you can go back into your settings to hide the list again.

Unblocking is as easy as right-clicking and choosing the right options, so long as you have the right settings enabled. If you can’t find your blocked friends, make sure to double-check your settings to ensure that you’re actually showing who you have blocked.

If you can do that, you should be able to add and delete people as often as you like.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Every month we give away 1,000 V-BUCKS!

Enter your email address to enter our monthly giveaway!

envelope-o
long-arrow-down